GeneralTop Story

Haruna Iddrisu And Muntaka Dropped; Ato Forson Now Minority Leader as NDC Shakes Up Parliamentary Leadership

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), has announced a massive shake-up in the minority leadership in Parliament.

Per the decision, Haruna Iddrisu will no longer be the Minority Leader, whereas Alhaji Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak, also losses his role as the Minority Chip Whip.

The party also made changes to other roles in a letter signed by its General Secretary, Fifi Kwetey, and forwarded to the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin.

Among the changes, MP for Ellemlbele, Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, is the new Deputy Minority Leader, replacing James Klutse Avedzi.

According to the letter, the new leadership will be “charged to recommend changes in the Ranking membership in parliament to the party’s headquarters for approval.”

Unconfirmed reports say there appears not to be consensus amongst the MPs regarding the changes.

However, the party says these changes are made from time to time among its leadership in parliament.

The changes come at a time when the party is preparing for the 2024 general elections.

NDC To Elect Presidential And Parliamentary Candidates On May 6

On May 6, 2023, the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), will elect its presidential and parliamentary candidates for election 2024.

This was announced in a timetable on Thursday, January 5, after a Functional and National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting. The party clarified that both the Presidential and Parliamentary primaries will take place concurrently.

Below is the letter announcing the changes:

Source – Tru News Report

Frebetha Atieku Adjoh

News Editor, Lover of Arts & Entertainment

Related Articles

Back to top button